Zim Diaspora

Aug 20th
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home2/zimdias/public_html/modules/mod_fpss/tmpl/TT/default.php on line 20
Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2011 JoomlaWorks Ltd.

Zimbabwe Police confiscates Tsvangirai's car

By Bruce Sibanda

Zimbabwe police in Lupane district in Matabeleland Norh region are still holding on to a BMW X5 belonging to Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai nine months after it was confiscated.

The car is currently parked in the open at Lupane Police station car park at the mercy of the weather, the reporter said.


Central Intelligence officers and the Police impounded Tsvangirai's armored vehicle on 6 June last year in the run up to the run-off elections and detained the MDC leader at the Lupane Police Station for alleged registration irregularities.


Senior Assistant Commissioner of Police Edmore Veterai who won praise from Zanu PF when he struck the new Prime Minister with a rifle butt in March 2007 allegedly issued orders for the continued impounding of Tsvangirai's vehicle.


A policeman at the station said: “The matter was raised by some senior police officers who suggested that the car be returned to Tsvangirai now that an all inclusive government had been formed but Assistant Commissioner Veterai issued a strong warning against anyone who touches the car and said that it would remain parked at the station."


Home Affairs Co-Minister Kembo Mohadi said that they were still working on the issue but refused to shed light on the reasons behind the delay in releasing the vehicle and why it is parked in the open.


"We are still working on the matter but I cannot tell you when we are going to release it, as for the parking I am not aware of that so I can not comment," he said before hanging up his phone on our reporter.


Sources close to the case revealed that some ZANU PF's hardliners wanted to convert the vehicle into their own use but their plans were frustrated by the formation of the All Inclusive Government.