Zim Diaspora

Aug 20th
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home2/zimdias/public_html/modules/mod_fpss/tmpl/TT/default.php on line 20
Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2011 JoomlaWorks Ltd.

14 aspiring ZANU-PF candidates approved

A TOTAL of 14 aspiring senators have been nominated to contest Zanu-PF primaries in Bulawayo Province.

Each province is supposed to have six candidates for the Senate. However, the acting provincial secretary for administration, Mandlenkosi Tshuma, said the party was yet to reveal the constituencies where the candidates would be contesting.

“We have 14 candidates ready to contest in the Senatorial primary elections, where we are going to come up with the required three men and three women to represent the party in the harmonised elections,” said Tshuma.

“The candidates are Professor Callistus Ndlovu, Cdes Emson Masuku, Ishmael Jassat, Davidson Pakarimwa, Canisiya Satiya, Shadreck Mukaro, Violet Mhute, Enock Mazimuka, Violet Ncube, Abednigo Mpofu, Anna Moyo, Rachel Mlilo, Ophar Ncube, Absolom Sikhosana, Angeline Masuku and Modecai Mlotshwa.”

A total of six women were also selected for the proportional representation quota in the National Assembly.

Eunice Sandi would represent Khumalo constituency and Cde Molly Mpofu has been selected for Masotsha Ndlovu constituency while Fidelia Maphosa would be in Mabutweni.

In Emganwini constituency Esinath Moyo would represent the party while Mavis Mutodi and Sihle Thebe have been selected to represent Gwabalanda and Mzilikazi constituencies respectively.

In Matabeleland North, Professor Jonathan Moyo would stand unopposed for Tsholotsho North with Cdes Cain Mathema, Zenzo Sibanda and Jabulani Nkomo set to vie for Tsholotsho South.

Two candidates, Sithembiso Nyoni and Maplot Donga would contest in Nkayi North while five, Stars Mathe, Nkululeko Nkala, Lot Fuzwayo, Ethel Ndlovu and Tshata Mguni would contest in Nkayi South.

Obert Mpofu would stand unopposed in Umguza constituency.

In Bubi constituency Clifford Sibanda would square off with Cdes Sanny Mguni and Cecil Mathambo.

In the Midlands the elections are set to be a tense affair as some constituencies had as many as 12 aspiring candidates willing to represent the party in the National Assembly.

Gokwe-Gumunyu constituency received the highest number of aspiring candidates after 12 people submitted their applications.

The constituency has been without an MP following the death of Ephrem Mushoriwa. The second highest number of aspiring candidates was recorded by Chirumanzu constituency which had nine aspiring candidates while Gokwe-Chireya was third with eight applications.

Phares Marimba is the incumbent MP for Chirumanzu while Cephas Sindi is the incumbent MP for Gokwe-Chireya.

Midlands State University lecturer Mr Christopher Gwatidzo has expressed his desire to swap his academic hat for a political one after expressing interest for the Gweru Urban seat on a Zanu-PF ticket. He, however, has to deal with two other aspiring candidates before he earns the right to represent the revolutionary party in Gweru Urban.

Four aspiring candidates submitted their names for Mkoba constituency while Chiwundura constituency received three applications.

Zanu-PF national spokesperson Rugare Gumbo would battle it out for the Mberengwa Senatorial seat with another senior party official, July Moyo, a former Midlands Governor.

Other senior party officials set to fight it out in the primary elections include Shurugwi South MP, Francis Nhema who would square off with Robert Nyathi.  Flora Buka would face  Justice Meya for the Gokwe-Chireya constituency.

Defence Minister  Emmerson Mnangagwa was unopposed in the Chirumanzu-Zibagwe constituency.

Zanu-PF provincial chairperson for Midlands,  Jason Machaya urged party candidates to remain peaceful as they worked towards attaining a resounding victory for the revolutionary party. He said time was running out and urged teamwork during and after the party’s primary elections.

“Time is not on our side and what I want to urge party cadres is to go out and campaign towards a resounding victory for Zanu-PF, come July 31 when elections are scheduled to be held. President Mugabe has repeatedly told us about the need for peace. We therefore call upon our party supporters to remain peaceful during and after the elections,” he said.

Midlands province has 28 House of Assembly constituencies and six Senatorial constituencies.

In Matabeleland South only Cde Obedingwa Mguni was unopposed for the National Assembly, in Mangwe. It has emerged that Politburo member  Richard Ndlovu and Khaya Moyo would square off in the bid to stand in the Bulilima-Mangwe Senatorial seat. Earlier, indications were that Khaya Moyo was unopposed but Ndlovu yesterday said he was also eyeing the seat.

In Beitbridge East, Kembo Mohadi would battle with the district war veterans chairman Cde Philemon Mbedzi, Johane Ndou and  Lawrence Tshili.

Out of 167 local authority wards, 96 candidates went through the process unopposed. Provincial chairman Andrew Langa would face Gibson Siziba and Patrick Hove in Insiza North.

Nine candidates,  William Dewa, Retired Colonel George Nare, Retired Brigadier-General Levy Mayihlome, Jones Nkomo, Fungai Nkomo, Thomas Mguni , Xolani Moyo and Themba Mathuthu will compete for Umzingwane seat.

In Insiza South there are Spare Sithole, former Radio Two DJ Malaki Nkomo, Vakatsha Langa and Esau Moyo. In Matobo North, former diplomat and veteran nationalist Dr Kotsho Dube is being challenged by local businessman, Never Khanye while there are two cadres each in Bulilima East and West as well as Matobo South.